in which the author documents his newfound insanity, meets some interesting people and works on his tan. The hard way.

That can’t be a good sound, pt 2

We’re in Holland, Michigan this evening. Today’s ride was mostly up the Blue Star highway, which is a moderately well travelled route, which only sometimes has a shoulder. The best parts of the day were when we got off that route onto backspace. We had lunch in New Haven, which not only had a bikestore where my brother cod buy the gloves he’s been missing, but also a nice Mexican restaurant.

Instead of an afternoon milkshake, we indulged in one of the many fruit stands along the way, and had fresh peaches and blueberries.

Five miles from Holland State Park’s campsite, I heard the same sound my front tire made just outside of Lewiston, Montana: my reactors had blown. This time, however it was because I had worn out the tread. Perhaps 2250 miles of cross country riding was all I should have expected from a wheel! Last time this happened, I borrowed a tire from Alex. This time, I had the spare I had picked up in Minot, and was back on the road in 15 minutes. I’m hoping tomorrow doesn’t involve more mechanical difficulties, and that the promised tailwind appears. Riding into a north wind for two days has gotten old.

20110828-085215.jpg

4 responses

  1. ShansMcB

    unfortunate things happen in 3’s right? So that means you’re all set and done with those then! ..hopefully! I’ll send positive vibes into the eastward winds =P

    August 29, 2011 at 7:58 am

  2. jean ralley

    Looks as though you got your moneys worth out of that tire. Spare parts for the trip is money well spent. At least towns for some help are a lot closer together than in Montana and N. Dakota. I hope the other two have spare parts, as well.

    Love, Mom

    August 29, 2011 at 12:55 pm

  3. I can’t wait to see you in Nov. your travel stories need to go into a book, they have been something I look forward to every day. It makes my day
    to read them.Glad the 3 of you finally connected ,and enjoy the rest of the trip together. Now it is good company,good food and a great time.
    Love c.g.

    August 29, 2011 at 5:48 pm

    • I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog site, and following along with my travels. I’m looking forward to seeing you in november, and hopefully Jim, when I go back through Chicago after seeing Daniel.

      david

      August 30, 2011 at 12:51 am

Leave a Reply

